Navigate
Current
Archives
Private

Misc.
Contact
Extra's
Comment
(The really was a great entry before this I swear! But I felt the need for a quick update before I head to bed.)

I've decided that I'm officially at war with my oh so precious telephone and a number of my animals...

I make it a habit when I leave the house to put my answering machine on so that people will know that I'm not home and to call my cell phone. So tonight I went running like I do every night and turned on the machine like I always do. Now normally nobody ever calls me which is something that I've gotten used to, and the few people that do call know from experience that I'm hardly ever home so they call the cell phone first.

So I walk in the front door an hour later, sweaty and gross from running three miles and I stop in the kitchen to grab a bottle of water and look at the mail. In the distance I hear my phone ring, and since I was expecting Joe to call me back I wanted to get to the phone.

Now normally this is no problem what-so-ever, but of course the one time I actually want someone to call me my house becomes one big obstacle course with living breathing moving hurdles.

I have lots of animals, three dogs, a cat and a bird to be exact. most of which choose to lay in the beds or lazily on the couch but never ever ever on the floor... So of course I start running/jogging for the telephone which is in my room at the other end of the house. And naturally all the animals were stratigically placed throughout the house making navigation entirely too hard.

So I'm running through the house and I manage to jump over the cat stretched out on the rug with no problem, (although that cat was none too pleased), the first dog was laying in the hallway and proved a little more difficult but still manageabe, and the second was almost run over because she decided to get up about the time I jumped. And then right before I get to the door of my bedroom the third and biggest of the dogs decides she wants to move...

Now this dog is a chocolate lab, that stands about theigh-high and weighs anywhere from 110-120 pounds. She is lazy, fat and never moves. But naturally with my luck she decided to walk out of the room across the hall right as I was passing. Now my room is at the end of the hallway so I couldnt exactly hurtle the dog, and about the time I realize she's walked out is about the same time that I realized that I'm going much too fast to actually stop and miss her. So naturally we crash, the poor dog flops onto the ground with a very loud and very annoyed grunt as I fall right on top of her. And about the time I hit the groung, the phone stops ringing. Whoever it was didnt leave a message, didnt call my cell phone and most importantly of all, only let the phone ring twice!

What kind of person only lets the phone ring twice? unless your superwoman or have the phone right beside you there is no way on earth that you will be able to make it across that house to get the phone even if you didnt have the collasal dog hurdles to deal with!

So I rolled off the dog and laid in my hallway in pain waiting on the person who called to call my cell phone (which was in my pocket) so that I could properly let them know what they had just put me through. But naturally the cell phone never rang... I tried to call Joe to see if it was him but got no answer. So now I sit here, still sweaty, in pain with two nice bruises, one from the wall and the other from the cell phone which jabbed into my hip. Not to mention one very annoyed dog.

Moral of the story: Dont call and only let a phone ring twice, and if you absolutely have to do this either leave a message or call a cell phone! It irritates everyone to no end when they know that they've missed a phone call yet have no earthly idea who it was!
<< ~ >>

Written on 2004-01-22 @ 10:44 p.m.
Hosted by Diaryland Designed by AM-Design